Skip to content

There’s only one Mineral Flower

March 10, 2007

I was listening to our kids singing along to a Praise CD today and it brought back some funny memories of my own childhood.

When I was a kid I listened to a LOT of country music. My Dad was a big fan. He had tons of records from folks like The Sons of the Pioneers, Dolly Parton, Merle Haggard, and more. I liked that music. When I finally got my own radio, in MY room, I naturally tuned it to country. I listened all the time and sang along at the top of my lungs to tunes like…

“Jose Cuervo, you are a friend of mine… I like to drink you with a little salt and lime. Then I kiss all the cowboys, then I shoot out the lights…”

“Well, your nobody called today. She hung up when I asked her name… Well, I wonder, does she think she’s bein’ clever…”

“You gotta know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em, know when to walk away and know when to run.”

“Mamas, don’t let your babies grow up to be cowboys. Don’t let ’em pick guitars and drive them old trucks, make ’em be doctors and lawyers and such.”

“And don’t it make my brown eyes, don’t it make my brown eyes, don’t it make my brown eyes blue.”

There were many more–probably some that would have made my parents blush if they knew I was singing the lyrics to my classmates at school (Jose Cuervo is likely right up there). Hey, I was only eight. I didn’t know what most of the lyrics even meant. It was just fun to sing them.

The funniest songs, though, were the songs that I knew and loved, the songs that I sang with great gusto, but to which I didn’t quite understand the lyrics.

kenny_rogers.jpg One in particular was Kenny Rogers’ “Lucille”. I always thought he was calling this crazy lady “Loose Heel” and I wondered why on earth he would have 400 children. How could anyone possibly have that many children and still have a crop in the field? Where did they all sleep? How did he feed them all? Where did they find clothes enough for all of them? No wonder she left! I couldn’t handle 400 children either!

tg-sheppard.jpgAnother favorite was T.G. Sheppard’s “Only One You.” The lyrics went something like, “There’s only one Eiffel Tower, one Finest Hour, one New York Town, one Fifth Avenue. There’s only one Mona Lisa, one Leaning Tower of Pisa, one Paris and there’s only one you.” Awww.. what a sweet song. I knew about all of the “only one ofs” except the Finest Hour. I hadn’t learned about that one in school yet and I heard “Mineral Flower.” Makes sense right? I went right on singing it like that until my Mom asked me one day exactly what I was singing and almost fell over in a fit of laughter.

I’ve heard lots of other funny stories about misinterpreted lyrics. See if you recognize the songs that go with the following lyrics…

“Old Saint Cuervo.”

“Friends with slow faces.”

“I spilt tea all over you an me.”

“Younger than the mountains, growin’ lima beans.”

“Find a two-step partner in the KGB.”

“And just like the guy whose eyes are too big for his head.”

It’s been a long time since I listened to country with regularity, but I still like it sometimes (don’t tell!). I think Tim McGraw and Faith Hill are inspired. I usually know the lyrics and, if I don’t, I know how to find them in the CD cover. It was a little more fun when I didn’t know, and just made up words that fit instead.

Are you singing “Mamas, don’t let your babies grow up to be cowboys” in your head now? Do you have your own funny stories about misinterpreted lyrics? I’d love to hear them!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda permalink
    March 11, 2007 7:32 am

    OMG!! Laughing my head off, truly! If you really want a good belly laugh go to http://www.kissthisguy.com and read away. I can spend hours there laughing until there are tears running down my face. One that really cracked me up was “Ducks, in the wind, all we are is ducks in the wind.” and another is “Who ya gonna call? Those B*******!” and my favorite “Might as well face it you’re a d*** head in love!” Oh my, now I’m laughing and have tears running down my face again!

  2. Keith permalink
    March 12, 2007 11:15 pm

    Ah! the memories come flooding back. I certainly remember “mineral flower” from Only One You. We were in Tucson and hadn’t been there long. The early ’80s music is still my favorite era. There were lots of balladeers. As opposed to Rock or twangy.

    This is a great reminisce.

  3. Brigid permalink
    May 4, 2007 4:12 pm

    Thank you for bringing back some wonderful memories of childhood and listening to ‘my parents’ music. I still enjoy country music and am not ashamed to admit it – though I don’t say it too loudly in front of my kids.

  4. May 7, 2007 1:38 pm

    I finally thought of one….Richard Marx’s song “Angelia”… Why would he be singing “Angel Ears”???

Leave a Reply

