Skip to content

Today’s Perplexities

April 24, 2007

Perplexities about marriage and kids:

1. Why is it that no matter how close the dishwasher is to the sink (or how empty the dishwasher might be), no one but me can get their dishes from the sink into the dishwasher?

2. Why is is that no matter how full the trashcan gets (like so full that the lid will no longer close and the next piece of trash has to be placed just so, like the next card in a card house, in order to not fall off and onto the floor), no one but me thinks to empty it?

3. Why is that once the trashcan has been emptied, no one but me is capable of putting a new bag into it?

4. Why is it that when the trashcan has no bag everyone but me still throws trash into it?

5. Why is it that no matter how many rolls of toilet paper are under the sink in the bathroom, within arm’s reach of the person going potty, no one but me changes the toilet paper roll?

6. Why is it that no matter where I place the hamper in any given room in the house, clothing simply cannot, must not, under any circumstances, actually make it into the hamper, but must instead be dropped directly in the middle of the floor?

7. Why is it that, even though the timer is set for 30 minutes, every game played on the XBox takes at least 35 minutes?  (Just the additional amount of time it takes me to say “Did I hear the timer go off?”)

8. Why is it that even though not a single child wanted to play the computer five minutes before, once one child wants to play, they all want to play?

9. Why is it that sleeves are so much better at nose-wiping than Kleenex (even the kind with lotion)?

10. Why is it that I am the only person in my household that is capable of chewing with my mouth closed?

I’m perplexed.  How about you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda permalink
    April 25, 2007 10:24 am

    Sounds like you’re experiencing a bit of mommy/wife frustration! Been there, done that. Sorry, I know it should be easier! These perplexities seem like no-brainers to us, but apparently they are not.

    In the midst of the storms take a moment to ponder the blessings and joys they all give you too! It will keep you sane!

    Much love!!!

  2. April 27, 2007 1:06 pm

    Why is it that you can place an item square in the middle of the stair to take up/down, and everyone else can manage to walk around it?

    Why is it that no matter how many times I walk over that dirty Kleenex on the floor refusing to clean up after someone else’s trash…it won’t go away until I make it happen?

    Well, I personally am glad you are neat, tidy and clean!

Leave a Reply

