Skip to content

Nectar of the Gods – Improved

April 26, 2007

Have you tried the new Diet Coke Plus? When hubby brought home the fridge pack, I must admit that I laughed heartily. Is it possible? Have we sunk to such dietary lows that we have to add vitamins and minerals to junk food just to get them into people’s diets? Whatever will the vitamin stores say? I’m sure they must be up in arms. Their sales will likely plummet. I mean, who wants to stop by the vitamin store and take a tablet that tastes like rotten meat when one can just drink a Diet Coke and be good to go?

Hubby had a good argument. I am, after all, a beverage addict, kind of like Jill. Her blog entry about her beverage addiction was great.  Water is just not my thing, either. Diet Coke, however, is.  It’s The Nectar of the Gods, in my book. It’s crisp, refreshing, has just the right amount of lg_diet_coke_plus.jpgcaffeine to get me going in the morning, and tastes great. I stopped drinking regular soda when I was 12, so it’s been a long time since I’ve even thought about aftertaste. It really is the perfect drink for me. Anyone who knows me would be hard-pressed to name a time that I didn’t have one in my hand, even in church.

So, he thought that he might as well contribute to my well-being if he was going to contribute to my habit. According to Coke, he told me, each eight-ounce serving of Diet Coke Plus provides a good source of Niacin (vitamin B3), vitamins B6 and B12, zinc and magnesium (15% Daily Value Niacin, B6 and B12, 10% Daily Value for zinc and magnesium). I think he read that off of the package, but it sounded good. I conceded.

I tried it. It was good… really good! I was surprised.

I thought I would check out what folks were saying out there about Diet Coke Plus. Lots of buzz, some decent, some sarcastic, some downright militant (it’s JUST a soft drink, folks!). This article from chow.com is pretty funny. I loved the comments at the bottom. I, too, think it’s pretty hilarious that we put vitamins and minerals in a drink that’s probably sucking the calcium out of our bones with every sip, but hey, I’m drinking it anyway. It’s a dietary staple for me. Nectar of the Gods, remember? Why not try to add something to it? Perhaps if I find just the right balance of pre-packaged foods, loaded with preservatives, and Diet Coke Plus, I’ll live to be 150!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda permalink
    April 26, 2007 8:35 am

    Hahaha!! I have tried it as well and thought the taste was great! Soooo, when I can find it I will probably buy it by the 12-pack! For now I will get it in the individual bottles beside the deli at my local grocery store. YUMMY!! Nectar of the Gods? YOU BETCHA!!

  2. April 27, 2007 1:09 pm

    Nectar? What? Are you hummingbirds or something?

Leave a Reply

