Skip to content

Roadtrip – Day 2

May 31, 2007

Saturday

12:00 am – My eyeballs are burning, but Bingo is my friend. I’m up $120 on the night and we’ve done a lot of laughing. However, I’ve been up since 4 am yesterday and I’m pretty faded. All of the numbers on all 18 of my bingo boards are running together and I can’t figure out if we’re doing the “Any Way T,” the “Kite” or “GO Bingo”. I’ve given up on the neon orange dauber and moved on to the dark purple. It’s a little easier on the eyes.

7:30 am – Are the kids really up? Yep. We’re sleeping in the basement and we hear every little bump from upstairs. Considering that there are 13 people staying in the house, 9 under the age of 20, I shouldn’t be surprised that we hear them already. But oh, I’m so tired.

8:00 am – Schwan’s breakfast pizza – if you haven’t tried them, you need to.

8:30 am – Dressed and showered (not in that order), but still not very awake. Half of the kids are already on round 4 of the Playstation 2 and the other half have been jumping on the trampoline since 7:32.

9:00 am – Hubby and brother-in-law are putting up two awnings outside. It’s a pretty funny sight, so we’re video-taping the endeavor.

10:00 am – Moving on to the fixin’s for the High School Graduate’s Open House. I think my sister-in-law bought enough food to feed five thousand. We have way more than five loaves and two fishes, let me tell you. Her mother-in-law brought over at least 10,000 cookies and bars. We’re madly trying to get everything trayed and ready to go before 1pm rolls around. We’re in charge of refilling all things empty.

12:30 pm – Napkins, plates and plastic forks don’t work so well with wind. The board with pictures of the nephew and his friends is really cute. My favorite picture is the one of him as a little guy, with a piece of bologna in front of face, three little holes eaten out of it, two eyes and a mouth. Very cute! He’s earned lots of awards over the years and he’s been a hockey maniac. The memorabilia weighs down the table. It’s a nice tribute. He deserves it. He’s a good kid.

2:00 pm – Folks are filtering through. Youngest daughter has already downed six Scotch-a-roos (a special kind of Rice Krispy Treat — heavenly, by the way — I’ll publish the recipe at a later date) and she wants to know if she can have another. She’s also eaten a sandwich, several potato chips, some pasta salad, nacho-cheese Doritos, and two chocolate chip cookies. I swear she has the metabolism of a long-distance runner. She can pack away the food like nobody I’ve ever seen and she’s such a skinny-minny. I wish I had that problem! I decide that six Scotch-a-roos is probably plenty, particularly when they’ve been consumed in quick succession and she’s been jumping on the trampoline. I’m having a flashback to the nice little stop in Kearney, NE. I tell her she really needs to wait an hour before she has anymore.

3:00 pm – It’s been an hour and the child has evidently watched the clock like a hawk. “Now?” she asks. “Go for it,” I tell her. It’s vacation. What the heck?

3:30 pm – Hubby and I play a very competitive game of Ladder Golf. He wins, of course. I’m amazed that no windows get broken during this little endeavor.

5:30 pm – Nephew opens all of his many gifts. My favorite is the pop-up hamper filled with packages of ramen noodles, cereal, soap, toothpaste, and fabric softener. Very thoughtful. I’ll have to remember that the next time we attend a graduation. He makes out like a bandit. I’m trying to remember if graduation was this profitable when I was his age.

7:00 pm – My eyelids are drooping something severe. I’m exhausted. It’s a good exhausted, though. I drink one more Diet Coke in the hopes that I will have enough energy to make it through until nine without falling into a dead sleep. I have a fear that I will fall asleep and drool or snore and, believe you me, with hubby’s family, I will never hear the end of it.

9:00 pm – I can take no more. Jammies are on, teeth are brushed. The kids can stay up until midnight if they want to, but this cat’s headed for bed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 1, 2007 11:00 am

    I haven’t heard of Schwan’s in years….the Schwan’s man used to come to our house. Years later, I dated a Schwan’s man. Glad you’re having fun. I love reading this…makes me think of my home state of Iowa.

Leave a Reply

