Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen #2

May 31, 2007

thursdaythirteen300.jpg

Thirteen Things (yes, really 13 this time) to see on the Road Trip:

1. Corn – lots of it.

2. Wheat – not as much as corn, but still lots of it.

3. Roadkill – of all kinds, really — raccoons, birds, snakes, deer, foxes — pretty gross.

4. Big Turkeys – See my Roadtrip – Day 1 post for further explanation.

5. The Fort Cody Trading Post – “Nebraska’s Largest Souvenir and Western Gift Store.” With prices to prove it.

6. The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument – We haven’t stopped at it yet, but every time we drive under it the kids beg to go check it out. Maybe the next go ’round.

7. The Heartland Museum of Military Vehicles – You can see the tanks and helicopters from the road as you drive by. Another one that the kids really want to stop and see. Maybe next time we’ll take an extra day just to stop at all of these attractions.

8. The Corn Palace Billboard – We drive by it every time we go to South Dakota and I say, “I really want to go there.” Every time I say that, hubby rolls his eyes, reminds me that it’s all the way in Mitchell, and says, “It’s totally cheesy.” What can I say? I like cheese sometimes.

9. Tons of these:


compact_rv_sm.jpg

All I can say is that if I were renting one, I wouldn’t want one with the “This is obviously a rented RV” emblems all over it.

10. The Brass Armadillo – a must if you’re an antique lover, or just a “junker”. It’s so much fun to search for treasure.

11. images.jpg Lots of these, too. Evidently it’s that time of year.

12. A sign that says “Watch for wind on overpass.” Hmmm… exactly how do we “watch” for wind? Perhaps, “Caution: strong wind possible on overpass” would be better.

13. A big glass building up on the hill off of I-80 in Omaha – I don’t know what it is, but we comment on it every time we drive by it. It’s beautiful, completely see-through, doesn’t look like it has floors in it from the road. If you know what it is, please, please let me know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2007 3:31 pm

    The Strategic Air & Space Museum is off I-80 in Omaha and is glass, could that be it? (I googled it, I was curious, I love glass buildings.) Liked your list.

  2. May 31, 2007 8:06 pm

    Hey now – I rented one of those cheesy RVs and it was awesome! (But, I have to confess, I was a bit weirded out with all the advertisements). They’re awesome!

  3. The 2 Witches permalink
    June 1, 2007 3:46 pm

    Do you get a better price with an advertisement enblased RV?? It might be worth it if so.

    Happy T13
    Mama Kelly

  4. June 4, 2007 4:13 am

    Congratulations! May 22, 2007 called “Letter to Her Mother” has been selected as our Post of the Day on “The Rising Blogger”. It is a brand new site that awards posts, not blogs. We will email your winning badge and all our info, if you send us your email address. To reach “The Rising Blogger” site:

    http://therisingblogger.blogspot.com

    Have a great week!
    Judd

  5. June 4, 2007 6:21 am

    The Corn Palace is not so much “cheesy,” perhaps as is it “corny.” That was really bad, I know. My brother lives in Aberdeen, so we had occasion to actually go to Mitchell and that palace is really it -it is all they have. But how much $$$ have they made over the years? What other types of veggies could we glue together to create a tourist attraction? I am feeling pretty entreprenurial – whaddya think?

Leave a Reply

