Skip to content

Out of the mouths of babes

June 25, 2007

From youngest stepdaughter, when I laughingly asked her “Where did we get you from?” Hair twirling around the pointer finger on one hand, pointer finger on the other hand tapping her lip, slowly…

“Um….. Mexico?”

From oldest son, when I told him to put down the giant glob of Silly String he had collected, after watching him squeeze the “juice” out of the glob and watching it drip down his arm…

“But Mom, this is part of my CHILDhood!”

From youngest after we sat through the camp spiel at church, discussed food options at camp, recreation options at camp, everything else at camp, in a tentative voice…

“Will we have to stay at camp the WHOLE summer?”

From youngest stepdaughter during a conversation about race cars and why there is a speed limitation before said race cars experience liftoff…

“No, because it involves lift, thrust, weight and drag.” (Wow! And she’s only nine!)

From the eldest stepdaughter when discussing the unholy hour at which we left the house on Saturday…

“Yeah, you don’t start sleeping ’til noon until you’re a teenager, right?”

From oldest son, as I was tucking him into bed, right after he asked for “just one more minute… please? Maybe two?” I responded, “Alright, two. You’re lucky I like you.”

“Of course you like me, Mom. A mother HAS TO like its young.”

Yes, I do.  In fact, I love them…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda permalink
    June 26, 2007 8:03 am

    Kids are so very precious. I’m glad you are getting to enjoy this time with them! And, thank you for sharing these times with us! It makes me feel a little closer to home!

  2. June 27, 2007 5:40 am

    I can just see her now twisting her hair, tilting her head and saying “Umm Mexico?” hahahahaha too funny.

    All your kids are wonderful. They each have their own special gifts and quirks. And, in the dictionary, I used to think the definition of precocious is Ruby’s picture, but we can add JO’s picture as well! 😉

  3. July 2, 2007 5:28 pm

    Love your love for your kids. They look beautiful through your heart!

Leave a Reply

