Skip to content

What’s on your radio?

August 20, 2007

I was jammin’ to this song on the radio yesterday. I needed the message. It reminded me that God is bigger than all of the boogeymen in our lives, particularly Family Court and The Egg Donor. He’s here, and He’s right now. We get our strength from Him. While I hear the voices telling me that things will be bad and wrong and awful forever, if I stop and listen I can hear His voice of truth…

Voice Of Truth

Casting Crowns

Oh,what I would do
To have the kind of faith it takes
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves
To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown
Where Jesus is,
And he’s holding out his hand

But the waves are calling out my name
and they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me
time and time again
“Boy, you’ll never win,
you’ll never win.”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
the voice of truth says “do not be afraid!”
and the voice of truth says “this is for my glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

Oh, what I would do
to have the kind of strength it takes
To stand before a giant
with just a sling and a stone
Surrounded by the sound
of a thousand warriors
shaking in their armor
Wishing they’d have had the strength to stand

But the giant’s calling out
my name and he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me
time and time again
“Boy you’ll never win,
you’ll never win.”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
the voice of truth says “do not be afraid!”
and the voice of truth says “this is for my glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

but the stone was just the right size
to put the giant on the ground
and the waves they don’t seem so high
from on top of them looking down
i will soar with the wings of eagles
when i stop and listen to the sound of Jesus
singing over me

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
The voice of truth says do not be afraid
And the voice of truth says this is for my glory
Out of all the voices calling out to me (calling out to me)
I will choose to listen and believe (I will choose to listen and believe)
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

I will listen and believe
I will listen and believe the voice of truth
I will listen and believe
‘Cause Jesus you are the voice of truth
And I will listen to you.. oh you……..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2007 9:29 am

    “He’s here, and He’s right now.”

    Is it me or are lots of us needing that reminder repeatedly this summer? It seems it has been a stormy summer, not only in the natural realm, but in the the heavenlies, too.

    This is where the rubber meets the road, huh? If God is who we believe He is, then He is the God of our circumstances, too.

    Sing it, Stephanie! Sing on, girl…

    Habakkuk 3.17-19 reads in part, “Even though the trees aren’t blossoming and the fruit isn’t ripening, even though the fruit we do have is worm-eaten and the fields of wheat are stunted and barren, though we have no sheep, no cattle -I’m singing my head off to God and doing cart-wheels of joyful praise to my Savior God. I am counting on God’s Rule to prevail and for Him to give me the strength of a deer running on the mountains!” paraphrased)

  2. August 20, 2007 11:32 am

    Sing it girl!

    J-thanks for the reminders. Yes, it’s been a long summer for some reason.

  3. Traci permalink
    August 21, 2007 5:29 am

    Isn’t it great how God speaks to us through song!

  4. Lynda permalink
    August 21, 2007 12:28 pm

    I love this song and it truly speaks to me every time I hear it. I love “The Voice of Truth”…there is seemingly so little truth in this world anymore that it is comforting to know Him as “The Voice of Truth” in my own life.

    You are in my prayers my dearest cousin/sister/friend…I know this time has been harder than anything you ever dreamed of going through. I trust that in the end it will be worth all the time, money and worry expended.

    Regardless of what ED thinks or does, we know Who is really in control…I am curious, though, to ask Him why some things go the way they do for so long. Maybe by the time I get to ask that question I will already have that divine knowledge?

Leave a Reply

