Skip to content

TV Addictions

October 25, 2007

I have a couple of TV addictions I’ve mentioned in the past.

The first, and most serious, is to Dancing with the Stars. It is the sole reason that I recently purchased a DirecTV Receiver with DVR. I have a meeting every other Monday night and just could NOT bear to miss it.

Since the DVR joined our family, I must admit it’s been easier to indulge my addictions without affecting the rest of my family members. AND? I can skip all the commercials. It’s wonderful.

But the newest addition to my TV Addiction List is by far the best… maybe ever.

Listen (or read) carefully…

Are you paying attention?

You absolutely…

Unequivocally…

Without question…

Have to watch…

Are you ready?

Here it is:

pushingdaisies_cast.jpg

It’s simply wonderful. In the spirit of Big Fish, it has a fantastic narrator, a comic-like setting, over-the-top acting, and a beautiful story. I love it.

I absolutely love it.

My favorite lines from Pushing Daisies so far:

Chuck: I guess dying is as good a reason as any to start living.

Ned: I know, deep down in my primal sweet spot, that I was being unselfish for selfish reasons.

Ned: Everything we do is a choice. Oatmeal or cereal. Highway or side streets. Kiss her or keep her. We make choices and we live with the consequences. If someone gets hurt along the way we ask for forgiveness. It’s the best anyone can do.

Are you watching it, too? I’d love to hear what you think…

Or share your own addictions… maybe there’s another one I’m missing.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. tulips4me permalink
    October 25, 2007 10:06 am

    We love Pushing Up Daisies at our house…We also love our Comcast DVR!!! 24 has become another addiction for us.

  2. tulips4me permalink
    October 25, 2007 10:06 am

    Oops, sorry I got the name of the show worong…we really do watch it!

  3. tulips4me permalink
    October 25, 2007 10:07 am

    I need spell check and a nap!

  4. Lynda permalink
    October 25, 2007 11:00 am

    I have not seen Pushing Daisies, but since it comes so highly recommended by my favorite cousin I will have to check it out! I do love the lines you quoted!

    My addictions are more to books than to television, so I don’t really have any network shows that I watch regularly. I am currently addicted to Nelson DeMille’s work and am steadily working on reading everything of his that I can get my hands on!

  5. October 26, 2007 3:24 am

    I’ve not caught it yet…my addictions are two-fold: Heroes and Torchwood. Torchwood is a sci-fi drama show on BBC America on Saturday nights (yeah, I don’t get out much!) Everyone’s heard of Heroes, though, LOL!

    Thank you also, Stephanie, for your comment on my blog–I have said it before, Having others out there who know what I’m going through as a stepmom makes it much easier to handle. Thanks so much…

    ~Peg

  6. October 26, 2007 11:41 am

    Now I am gonna have to watch it and I have been avoiding it.

    I try NOT to allow myself TV addictions. But I love “The Office,” “American Idol,” and “Dr Phil,” although I only allow myself 2 episodes a week of him. I haven’t watched any for 2 weeks-I am saving up for sweeps month. It is a SICKNESS!

  7. October 26, 2007 3:51 pm

    I’ve heard Pushing Daisies is awesome, but I haven’t gotten into it yet. In fact, I haven’t even watched one episode.

    I am, however, also addicted to DWTS and while I think Little Miss Cheetah Girl is awesome and will probably win, I’m holding out for Mel B or Jenni Garth.

  8. October 26, 2007 3:51 pm

    I’m also addicted to Life, Journeyman, Prison Break, CSI: Miami, CSI (Vegas) and Numbers. Yes, we have DVR. 🙂

  9. triplektrouble permalink
    October 28, 2007 8:55 pm

    haha it’s so funny you would bring up that show! I was on abc.com watching the episodes of desperate housewives and greys anatomy I missed, and I saw that show on there…so I started watching from the first episode and next thing I knew, it was FOUR in the morning! I watched all the episodes! I love big fish and also Six Feet Under. Great show.

    Stephanie-Thank you so much for praying for us, everyone made it out safe and out of our whole congregation at church only 3 people lost their homes!! What a miricle huh!

  10. October 29, 2007 10:02 am

    Don’t everyone point and laugh at the same time…we turned off cable last May and haven’t looked back. We watch movies maybe twice a month. I have not heard of about half of the shows mentioned above. Shoot me.

  11. November 1, 2007 6:00 pm

    DVR is the way to go. Although I find most evenings I’m blogging away and don’t ever catch up. I love the skip through commercials though. Grey’s Anatomy is my guilty pleasure, we also record 2 1/2 men, and newer shows like Journeyman, Rules of Engagement, and about 100 others. I’m at 75% memory use – hoping for a rainy Saturday soon so I can marathon.

    FYI. This may be my first post on your site, although I’ve been reading (lurking?) for a while and have you on my fav list. I feel for you with the stepmom situation. I am the adult child of a 2nd marriage that left 4 half-brothers and sisters from my Dad’s first marriage in a real bind with a psycho mom. Back then there was no hope for Dads in custody cases. My father never really got over having to leave his kids in that situation and he poured a lot of love into me to try and make up for it. Thank goodness things have changed a bit. Good luck with the court case.

  12. November 1, 2007 9:31 pm

    Hey Wenderina – Thanks for commenting. Glad to know you are among the DVR fanatics, too. Now that I have it, I wonder how I ever lived without it before? I’m SUCH an addict. Seriously! 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about your growing up situation. I’m glad Dad poured a lot of love into you despite the tough circumstances he faced. I have to say I’m so impressed with men who have had it so rough and have just stuck it out for their kids. They truly deserve better than most of them got.

    Glad to meet you!

Leave a Reply

