Skip to content

Things that make you go… OUCH!

October 26, 2007

Last night we were discussing the World Series and I was relating to the kiddos my first experiences with baseball.  I didn’t really grow up a baseball fan, although my Dad is a sports fan of the highest order.  I did enjoy watching games with him and I absolutely LOVED going to them.  To this day, I would much prefer attending a game than watching it on TV, although I really liked the Sundays that we ordered hot wings and watched football games.

Anyway, when I was about 13, my family took an extended vacation to the east coast.  It was packed with fun things to do, cool places to see, and seafood to eat.  I got some great pictures.  I took one of the Liberty Bell with a very nice tourist behind it in black socks and shorts.  It looks just like the Liberty Bell sprouted legs with nerdy black socks pulled almost up to its knees.  Too funny.

One of my very favorite parts of that trip was going to a Yankees game at Yankee Stadium.  I explained to the kids how we took the subway and how awed I was at just being there.  Having heard about it for so many years, it was kind of humbling to just step inside.  I had a great time with my Dad and it’s a memory I will always treasure.

Just as I was getting a little misty-eyed at the memory, Freddy says to me, as straight-faced as he could be:

“That’s cool, Mom!  Was The Babe there?”

Um… no.  Because The Babe would be, like, 110 by now.

I am old.  It’s official.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:42 am

    Freddy is one funny guy! And I love the story about the Liberty Bell sprouting legs. I’d love to see that picture!

    On a different note, I am sitting here eating KFC while reading your blog. Admittedly it’s not as nearly as much fun as our lunches together, but it is sure a nice memory. I miss you.

  2. October 26, 2007 11:42 am

    Well – I actually AM old. I remember going to see Joe Torre play for the St. Louis Cardinals in the early 70s when he was a “hunk!”

  3. October 26, 2007 3:48 pm

    HA! That is hilarious!!!

    And, too bad about the Rockies. Man, they got SPANKED one Game 1 and yesterday was a bummer. Getting picked off in the 9th inning? Ouch. I turned it off at that point cuz I knew it was OVER.

    Here’s hoping Games 3-7 are OURS!

  4. clevergrl permalink
    October 26, 2007 6:07 pm

    One of my students saw a picture of me on my wedding day in my office and said, Gee you look so young! You know, cause that was a whole two years ago.

  5. tia0220 permalink
    October 29, 2007 12:45 pm

    This reminds me of the time that I was nannying and lil miss meggie and I were watching “Ssiter sister”. I told her that I used to watch that between classes in college because there was nothing else on.
    She turned to me and said, “yeah but now it’s in color!” I think at the time I was 23!

Leave a Reply

