Skip to content

A Very Small Bridge

November 8, 2007

Velma came downstairs this morning wearing a Halloween shirt.

While My Hubby was busy putting away his Halloween decorations, she had purposefully gone upstairs and put ON a Halloween shirt to wear to school. Ever conscious of the horrid nature of children between the ages of eight and eighteen in a school setting, and knowing how painful teasing can be, I suggested that she might change into something else, given that it is already November 8!

She shook her head and we had the following exchange:

Velma: “I WANT to wear this to school.”

Me: “But it’s past Halloween. It’s almost Thanksgiving.”

Velma: “But lots of other kids are wearing Halloween stuff still.”

Me: (With all of the wisdom I have gained from my mother over the years reflected in my voice) “If lots of other kids were jumping off of a bridge, would you do it?”

Silently, I’m patting myself on the back for imparting this little bit of wisdom to her at a moment like this. I have a few seconds to ponder this, while she’s thinking deeply about how to respond. I’m feeling good. She definitely gets it.

Maybe she’ll think about this particular phrase when she gets offered drugs, or alcohol, or when some boy is trying to convince her that she should give up the goods. Maybe she’ll go against the flow when she knows the flow is wrong, just because we’ve had this moment. Maybe she’ll remember this with such clarity that she’ll share it with her own kids one day. Isn’t that the way it’s supposed to work?

Ahhh, passing the torch. That’s what happening here.

Suddenly she comes out of her reverie and says…

“I might… If it was a very small bridge.”

Aaaaallllllllrrrrrrighty, then.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2007 4:50 am

    This is why we have kids!

  2. November 9, 2007 6:18 am

    Logic only bends to logic.. and logic is, jumping off a very small bridge sounds fun… Even my non adventures eldest tells me the same thing when I ask him if he would jump off the bridge just to follow the crowd.

  3. cris permalink
    November 9, 2007 6:49 am

    priceless comeback. only from a child!

  4. November 9, 2007 7:57 am

    From the mouths of babes…

  5. November 9, 2007 10:01 am

    oh, oh, oh, oh, (like Santa), ohhhh, this child is clever. No time to even gloat for a nanosecond. Girl, can you stay ahead of her?

  6. November 9, 2007 7:50 pm

    On Izzy’s blog, I posted a link to the one I have. My step-dad’s family introduced it to my mom, she introduced it to me. Our first thanksgiving as a family, I made them. Kids loved them so much, it is now tradition, Big Meal Holidays require I make riced potatoes… They are easy and don’t take much time… Only a strong armed person lol

  7. November 9, 2007 9:50 pm

    Too funny. Have you ever seen the video on YouTube of the Mom singing to William Tell Overture. Classic.

  8. November 10, 2007 5:35 am

    All – she IS a clever little monkey, isn’t she? I have to work on my comebacks to things like that. She’s so off the wall sometimes, I’m not sure anyone would be able to reply quickly… That’s one of the reasons we love her! 🙂

    Chelly – I’ll check out the link. Maybe we’ll start a new tradition at our house this year.

    Wenderina – Oh my gosh, that is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. My Hubby said, “That woman has WAY too much time on her hands.” I said, “No, she’s a genius. She’s SAVING time. She squashed all of the things she has to say over and over and over again into a couple of minutes!” Loved it.

Leave a Reply

