Skip to content

Little People, Big Lessons

November 14, 2007

Sometimes I learn the best lessons from my kids. I try really hard to be the one to teach them the best lessons, and I think I do a pretty good job most days. But some days…

I get humbled.

A couple of weeks ago, I was having a particularly bad day with Freddy. Although he’s only eight, he likes to think he’s at least 20. He knows just about everything there is to know about everything and he’s the first to argue if he believes you have been mistaken about something.

He’s also a very sensitive kiddo and if he perceives that you are upset with him over some injustice, it hurts him to the core of his being. I don’t recall the specifics of the exchange, to be honest with you, but I know that I reprimanded him for something.

He argued.

I argued back.

He raised his voice.

I raised my voice.

He raised his voice a little more.

I raised my voice a little more…

And then I told him, with my voice raised a little more, that was ENOUGH.

I sent him to his room until he could get a grip on his anger and hurt.

It wasn’t long before I heard his footsteps on the stairs. I saw his little, tear-streaked face peek around the corner at me and I softly said, “Come here.”

He came. I pulled him onto my lap and held him for a moment. He sighed a deep, shuddering, post-crying sigh and wrapped his little arms around my neck.

“I’m sorry,” he mumbled into my neck. “But you really hurt my feelings when you yelled at me.”

“I’m sorry, too,” I replied. “But you really hurt my feelings when you yelled at me.”

“Well…” he whispered…

“Two wrongs don’t make a right.”

I learn a little more every day. Thank you, Lord, for the lessons you send my way. Thank you more for the opportunity to get it right next time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Smirking Cat permalink
    November 14, 2007 6:04 am

    It’s funny how I find myself altering my behavior based on what we have taught the kids. We keep reminding them to say “please”, and it makes me smile when they catch someone else not saying it; they will quickly point out “You didn’t say please!” Now, they have amnesia when it comes to their own behavior, but at least I know they are paying attention.

  2. Lynda permalink
    November 14, 2007 2:46 pm

    Children are often wise beyond their years and have wonderful, imaginative and creative ways of teaching us, the adults in their lives, lessons so profound that we will surely never cease to be amazed (and educated).

    Thank you for sharing this precious tidbit from your little man.

  3. November 15, 2007 1:26 pm

    It can be an amazing learning experience when we stop and listen to our children.

Leave a Reply

