Skip to content

Tis the Season

December 9, 2007

I adore the Christmas season. I look forward to it from the time the leaves hint at turning red and yellow, from the first chilly morning, from the first day of school. I love the smell of baking gingerbread, the excitement in the kids’ eyes on Christmas morning, drinking hot apple cider, reminiscing as we decorate the tree together and, most of all, remembering the reason for the season.

My husband, you will recall from my Macabre Manor post, loves decorating most of all, and Christmas is no exception. We begin putting up all things Christmas long before Thanksgiving rolls around but we all wait for the first real snow of the year to really feel the Christmas spirit.

Last night we got our wish and our front yard looked like this:

100_2236_blog.jpg

And this:

100_2239_blog.jpg

And while there are no stockings hung just yet, we do have this:

100_2247_blog.jpg

And this:

100_2244_blog.jpg

Those big white spots in the pictures? They were the loveliest snowflakes you’ve ever seen. They were giant… the kind that melt on your tongue and make you feel like you’ve had the most refreshing glass of water. They were the kind that covered the sidewalk, the trees and the street in a beautiful, glistening blanket of sparkling white, the kind that muffled the sound of tires on the road, the kind that made everything seem peaceful and dreamy.

Pictures just can’t adequately portray how amazing they were, but this one comes closest to showing how huge they were:

100_2273_blog.jpg

I got a hot cup of tea and watched them drift out of the sky while my wonderful husband shoveled the drive and the walk. I was warm and toasty with my tea and my afghan. My hubby?

Not so much:

100_2276_blog1.jpg

Despite the fact that his ears were a little frosty, and he had a new cap made of snowflakes, he was as excited as he could be.

“I could stay out here all night,” he said. “This is perfect. Now it’s Christmas time.”

I couldn’t agree more.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 10:10 pm

    To say that I’m jealous would be the understatement of the century.

    Bummed in California,
    Daisy

  2. December 10, 2007 4:21 am

    The first snowfall of the season is something I miss so much from PA(we don’t see a whole lot of snow down here in the south). Now, the 15th and 16th and 17th snowfall, with the ice and the wind and the slippery roads…not so much. But the first one always has a magic to it!

  3. December 10, 2007 4:37 am

    What I would give for a white Christmas again. Haven’t had a good white Christmas since we lived in Alaska… Maybe in Germany..

  4. Lynda permalink
    December 10, 2007 8:15 am

    Well I’m totally with Daisy, Smirking Cat and Chelly…I MISS SNOW! It just doesn’t feel totally like the Christmas season without it! We have had a few days with some rain, which is a welcome change, but it’s not the same…it’s not fluffy, it’s not white, it’s not snow.

    However, I LOVE the photos of your house! You’ve done a wonderful job decorating for the season!

    Miss you.

  5. December 10, 2007 9:34 am

    Note to (your)self: look for stocking cap or cool earmuffs for hubby for Christmas.

    I Christmasized yesterday – the house is mostly holiday acceptable now! And on Saturday walked, pooches included, from my house to the Target area – you KNOW where that is – it was perfect.

  6. December 10, 2007 9:35 am

    P.S. I still want to know where people store a whole herd of metal reindeer for 11 months.

  7. December 10, 2007 6:14 pm

    Awesome photos! Thanks for helping met get into the spirit of the season!

  8. Robyn permalink
    December 11, 2007 12:46 pm

    Add me to the jealous list! 85 degrees here and sunny…unseasonably warm even by FL standards.

    Enjoy the snow! Throw some snowballs for me! šŸ˜‰

  9. December 14, 2007 5:36 am

    Aaaaahhhhh…people after our hearts. This year, however, Dave had some health problems/surgery/etc that made our outdoor illumination a bit tricky. We scaled waaaaaaaay back, but yes – the snow causes it to come alive in Christmas glory!
    JOY TO THE WORLD!

Leave a Reply

