Skip to content

The Whole She-bang

February 4, 2008

My dear cousin, the one I think of far more as a sister than a cousin, the one that my kids know as Aunt, is going through a hard time right now.

She has some things going on with her health that are really scary. I remember that feeling of panic, of terror, of wondering if my whole life was going to be turned on its head. I wrote about it, way back when, in a post called The B Word.

She and I were talking about that post a few days ago, in relation to her current situation. I’m very glad that she has chosen to share her current situation with me, rather than waiting to let me know once things were for sure good, or for sure bad.

It means I can be there to support her right now. It means I can pray for her right now. It means I can just listen and understand when she needs to vent. I can be her cousin/sister. I’m glad for that.

Anyway, she gave me a rather stern lecture about the fact that I did not let her know ahead of time about my problem. I waited until I knew for sure that things were alright. And then I vented all of my stress on my blog.

I know…

But even in the middle of a very stern lecture, she has the most amazing ability to make me laugh… even when she’s completely stressed out.

Our conversation went like this:

Me: I’m glad you let me know when it happened, instead of waiting until you knew for sure.

Her: Yeah, you should have let me know when it happened, too.

Me: Yeah, I know. But you know me. I didn’t want anyone to worry if it ended up being nothing.

Her: Yeah, but if we had known ahead of time we could have been praying for you all that time.

Me: I know, like I’m praying for you right now.

Her: Yeah. And, when we finally learned the outcome, it was kind of anti-climactic. It was like, “Oh, it could have been a big deal, but now it’s not. Woo hoo.” I would rather have gone through all the stress and then celebrated with you when it turned out to be good news.

Me: You wanted confetti, or what?

Her: Yeah, confetti… maybe some balloons.

Me: And those roll-up noisemaker things like at New Year’s?

Her: Definitely. A big party.

Me: And not just any old confetti, either. Glittery, shiny confetti like at the Super Bowl!

Her: Yeah, just like at the Super Bowl…

Her: We wanted noise makers…

Her: and glittery confetti…

Her: we wanted the whole she-bang…

Her: Doggone it, we wanted to see Janet Jackson’s boob!!!

Me: (Dying laughing in the car) Yeah, exactly!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2008 8:25 am

    Out loud laughing! My sister told me recently about the C word and her daughter – my niece. I had to dig for the information, and even then, she somehow managed to get out of the conversation without even telling me the kind of C it was. One thing she said was, with relation to living in a small town, working in a small business, is that with all the gossip, she only told people she needed as prayer warriors. Huh. I didn’t get a phone call. Not as a sister, not as a prayer warrior. There’s more history there, but I can relate to your post today.

    Otherwise, didn’t I hear Janet got a parttime job at Victoria’s Secret to help cover her legal expenses?

  2. Lynda permalink
    February 4, 2008 9:00 am

    Hahahaha!! I just laughed all over again! What a great conversation that was! I love you like a sister my dearest cousin and I’m so glad to have you on my team, praying and supporting me through this. It would be a whole lot less fun without you, that’s for sure! Thank you for being you. You’re the bestest! (I don’t even need Janet Jackson’s boob to celebrate having you in my life!):D

  3. February 4, 2008 2:39 pm

    LOL – Janet is long since forgotten, it’s all about Brittany these days.

  4. Lynda permalink
    February 4, 2008 2:53 pm

    Yeah, but Brit doesn’t give us much to celebrate anymore! LOL

  5. clevergrl permalink
    February 4, 2008 3:48 pm

    What a great relationship you guys have! I’m jealous…

    Glad everything is okay, though…!

  6. February 4, 2008 6:36 pm

    Reminds me of my good friend, who tends to want to keep “bad” things to herself, instead of telling those who care about her. She doesn’t want anyone to make a fuss. But I tell her, “I want to know. I want you to tell me so that I can support you!” She is finally beginning to understand that, and I can appreciate her side, too.

  7. February 5, 2008 5:40 am

    I told my best friend about this post. (She isn’t a blogger and doesn’t get the whole process or I’d have sent her here myeslf!)

    Anyway, she called me back later and told me that she’d used this example TWICE during the day to her husband regarding an event they are planning.

    What a fun conversation!
    -d

Leave a Reply

