Skip to content

I’d Like to Thank…

February 5, 2008

Many, many, many, many thanks to Wenderina over at Anxious Moments for sending some Bloggy Love my way.

Wenderina grew up watching her father and half-siblings deal with similar craziness to ours and often shares valuable insight.  She also tends to make me laugh out loud when she leaves comments like:

“Isn’t there a hitman around somewhere that you can hire?”

So… Bloggy Love from her is a BIG compliment, especially when she does the kind of writing I hope to do when I grow up.

excellentblog.jpg

Thanks Wenderina!

And I pass the Bloggy Love on to:

A Stepmom’s Say – I have the utmost respect for Mrs. H and the utmost sorrow for all that she, Mr. H and their boys have had to deal with with the crazy Bio-Mom in their lives.  She handles herself with grace, strength, and wisdom even when she’s taking heat from those that just don’t get it.

All’s Quiet on the Homefront –  Her tales of hilarity from the Bay Area never fail to keep me in stitches, and in touch.  Some of my favorite posts she’s done?  The Yogo Story, The Airport Bathroom Story, and Talking to Men About Healthy Eating for the Super Bowl.  Those aren’t the real names, by the way… just my pet names for them.

Blue Bamboo –  It’s entirely possible that we were twins, separated at birth. I knew it after I read the Table Manners post.  She handles very similar situations with her kiddos and her hubby because, alas, they have a psycho ex-wife in their lives, too.  And she calls her stepdaughters her “heart-daughters”.  Could there be anything better?

Clever Escape –  She has a stepdaughter that she sometimes sees, and sometimes doesn’t.  Right now the psycho ex-wife in their lives is deliberately keeping Sunshine and her Daddy (and her Stepmommy that loves her) from having any communication whatsoever.  What I like about Clever Girl the most is that she just doesn’t take any crap from anybody.  She says it like it is.  She’s real.  And unapologetic.  She’s awesome.

Donna Hanson –  She’s the bomb.  Seriously.  She’s my partner in crime in Stepmom Support Land, she has the best sense of humor, she doesn’t mind it when I yank the top off of the latte maker (the one that specifically says “Don’t Remove, Hot Water Under Pressure”) and give her kitchen cabinets an instant facial.  And best of all?  She’s got mad skillz with a camera.  Check out these pics she recently took at a High School concert.

Thought Collage –  Jeanie is the kind of spiritual Christian woman I aspire to be someday.  She is a supporter of people, a lover of God, and she has Jesus way down deep in her soul.  She has enough faith to share with the whole planet and I love the blessed, uplifting, sweet way she goes about doing just that.  And she has a gorgeous family to boot!

Little Wren – She introduces articles from Stepdivas that are timely, she talks about her very raw emotions with amazing candor, she details her struggles, and she reminds us of things like “Despite your best efforts to get along with the ex, you just can’t reason with crazy.”  She’s real.  She’s dealing the best she can, and she still manages to be an incredible support to the rest of us out there still trying to reason with crazy.

The Psycho Ex-Wife – I think these folks may have stolen my identity and are secretly writing about The Egg Donor (ED).  The story is THAT similar.  The cash outlay for court is THAT similar.  Seriously, though, Mister M and his partner are doing a lot of research and they regularly publish book reviews and article reviews that help those of us dealing with our own Psycho Ex-Wife (or one that used to be married to our husband).  I wish I would have found their site sooner!

The Smirking Cat –  She had me at hello.  At least, she had me at her tagline:  “I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.”  So true.  She’s dealing with the same kind of craziness and she does it with grace and a wicked, rocking, biting sense of humor that never fails to make me laugh out loud.  She’s the girl I needed on my four-square team in elementary school.  And?  She can rock some pigtails!

Last, but certainly not least, I return the love to Wenderina at Anxious Moments.  Some of my recent favorites over there?  Miss America Reality Check… NOT! and this post that made me teary — a sweet, wonderful tribute to her Dad.  Even better?  She knows Bill and Ted and uses references to their Excellent Adventure that I totally get.

So thanks, Wenderina, for the award.  I so appreciate it!  Thanks all, for the support, for the laughs, for the misty eyes, for the advice.  You all out there in the blogosphere are the BEST!  I can’t imagine how I was hanging, trying to reason with crazy, without you.  I am blessed, indeed.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2008 8:59 am

    Thanks again for the shout-out, Steph. I wish I hadn’t been frozen with fear… DW has been asking me to consider doing that blog for quite some time… both as a place to vent and be a little bit more participative in an “activism” way to help others who “wished they had known sooner.”

    We do it now, but still with the fear that it may be discovered by a certain someone and somehow used against me.

    Guess we’ll “burn that bridge when we come to it.”

    ~Mister-M

  2. Lynda permalink
    February 5, 2008 9:01 am

    While I’m a faithful and avid reader of Stephanie’s blog and Clever Escape’s blog as well, I’ve only perused some of the others that you have mentioned here. What I have read, I have truly enjoyed. I am glad that there is a way to give each other an “atta boy” in the blogsphere. You all deserve it!

    Being a step momma myself I have learned many things reading your blogs that have helped me to be a better step mom to my boys. I had an opportunity to share some of that wisdom with my hubby and the boys’ mom this weekend. It felt like a blessing to be able to help them see that they were putting the kids in a position of choosing between their mom and dad and how uncomfortable that made the boys feel. They both understood and I think a lot of good came from that insight. I have you and the other stepmom blogs to thank for that insight. I’m not sure it would have been quite as apparent without it.

  3. February 5, 2008 9:19 am

    Well, golly geepers, blow me over – thanks for the banner. Oh, alright, I’ll post that picture I was talking about…

    Thanks for being a stepmom, blogger co-conspirator.

  4. February 5, 2008 12:45 pm

    Wow! How great is this!!! I’ve never won anything before… It’s totally unexpected and I’m flattered by your kind words. 🙂

  5. clevergrl permalink
    February 5, 2008 1:56 pm

    Awww! Warm fuzzies all around. 🙂

  6. February 5, 2008 2:13 pm

    I’m not worthy.

    Seriously.

    Thanks so much for making my insane life sound less, well, insane. It is a strange world when you read someone else’s insanity and think, “Wow, I’m glad BM isn’t THAT crazy.”

    Your blog is a daily stop of mine…..keep typing away!

    🙂

  7. February 5, 2008 3:48 pm

    *curtsy* Thank you so much! I read most of the other blogs already too; if there are any I have missed, I will correct that immediately!

  8. February 5, 2008 4:05 pm

    Stephanie -you are so kind to say the things you said. Wow! What an honor to be on this list of wonderful bloggers/writers/people you have gathered around you (I am always impressed by your far-reaching influence). I am humbled by you. You know I love your writing. You know I want to contend with those who contend against you. You know I think of you as a daughter in the faith…right? You are wonderful. Thank-you!

  9. February 5, 2008 5:26 pm

    Sending love right back to you, Steph. I think yours was the first blog I ever read where I thought, “Oh my God, I’m not alone!”

    Big hugs.

  10. February 5, 2008 5:57 pm

    I got Bloggy love! Woo hoo! And yes, I had the same experience as Little Wren, “I am not alone!!!!”

    Now, to determine if we really were seperated at birth:

    Does Diet Coke run through your veins?
    Do you sometimes scream in your car when you are alone?
    Have you had dog/cat hair embedded in everything you own for at least ten years out of your life?

  11. February 5, 2008 7:46 pm

    Praise well deserved!

  12. February 7, 2008 8:12 am

    I gave you more bloggy love!

Trackbacks

  1. I’d Like to Thank… (Addendum) « In this house, I’m the Mama…
  2. My Favorites Meme « In this house, I’m the Mama…

Leave a Reply

