Skip to content

It’s All About Me – Q & A

April 3, 2008

So, I’m clearly behind the power curve on this.  Wenderina asked for volunteers to answer the questions below and I waved my hand, jumped up and down, and shouted “Pick me!  Pick me!  Pick me!”

 Then?  I forgot to do it.  Like I have such a busy life or something…

Still, she was patient with me and  gave me some linky love on her blog–even though I failed miserably at the task I volunteered to do.  Thank God I don’t work for her!  I would have soooo let her down on this one.

Anyway, here are my answers… better late than never, I guess.

What historical figure do you most identify with and why?

I’m sure it’s unpopular to change the question to reflect someone I would like to emulate, but that’s what I’m going to do. I recently saw the movie Amazing Grace and, while I’m sure it has a Hollywood spin on it, the main character’s commitment to his passion is incredible. He sacrificed everything he had, financially and physically, to do what he thought was right. I hope I lead my life like he does. I hope that the ugliness we have seen in the family court system doesn’t cause me to ever give up fighting for what is right. I hope, instead, that the injustices we have personally faced spur me on to make changes to the system and help others in similar situations.

Which word or phrase do you think is overused right now?

That’s sick!

How would you explain your profession to a child?

I make sure that the computers at work run, all the time. I also make sure that if something happened to the computers at work we could get all of our stuff back.

What did you have to learn the hard way?

That being a Stepmom is a really hard job; that my husband and I, as in love as we were and still are today, will not ride off into the sunset for at least 10 more years; but that parenting in any form is still a great job to have; and that being married to my soulmate is worth every second of ugliness we have experienced.

What do you sing or hum when you’re alone?

“Big Girls Don’t Cry” by Fergie. I’m not sure why. It’s just catchy that way.

What talent would you most like to have?

Anything artistic. I’d love to be able to draw and paint. Or sing. Or act.

What movie character would you like to portray and why?

I would like to play Allie in The Notebook, but only if my husband played Noah. I think it’s the best romantic movie of all time and it truly parallels our relationship (without the court battles, of course). I could watch that movie 1,000 times!

Is there a book that changed your perspective on life?

“His Needs, Her Needs” by Willard E. Harley, Jr. It’s still changing my perspective. I’m definitely a forward-thinking kind of gal, but this book made me see that I could be strong, independent, and forward-thinking and still build my marriage by respecting my husband.

And when our marriage is happy?  Everybody’s happy.

What’s the best reward for a job well done?

At work? More vacation time, hands down. At home? A simple thank you does wonders. If that simple thank you comes with a twinkle in the eye, like someone really, really appreciated it, then all the better.

What is your personal motto?

The word “can’t” is not part of my vocabulary.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lyndaspix permalink
    April 3, 2008 7:10 am

    Great answers. I really need to watch “The Notebook”.

  2. lyndaspix permalink
    April 3, 2008 7:11 am

    Oh, and you are a very creative/artistic person in your own way. I remember that t-shirt you made when you came to visit long ago! I thought it was awesome!

  3. April 3, 2008 9:04 am

    I never saw “The Notebook” but I read the book.

    I bawled my eyes out.

    Seriously.

    For the last 3 chapters I sat with the book in one hand and kleenex in the other. I don’t think anyone would want to ready my copy after me because it was snot covered.

    I’ve only ever read one other Nicholas Sparks book, “A Walk to Remember” and I bawled through that one too. I love his books, but can’t suffer any more dehydration, so I have sworn them off.

    Maybe I’ll watch the movies when I’m not PMSing and prone to crying at bank commercials……

  4. April 3, 2008 11:15 am

    I can’t read any Nicholas Sparks books either. Also bawled at The Notebook and we watch it on EVERY scrapbook retreat I attend!

  5. April 3, 2008 5:12 pm

    No can’t eh?
    Bet you can’t fix Wenderina’s laptop. {snicker}

  6. April 4, 2008 7:13 am

    The Notebook makes me bawl every single time I watch it. Without fail. Cold Mountain does the same thing to me.

    And that dang Fergie song? It’s way catchy.

Leave a Reply

