Skip to content

Five Years

April 12, 2008

Today is my fifth wedding anniversary.

It seems like yesterday that we fell in love for the first time, like yesterday that we fell in love all over again, like yesterday that we both said “I do” with tears in our eyes, like yesterday that I realized that what we have together is amazing and rare.

In honor of this day, I thought I would share with you the things about My Hubby that make him so very special to me–the things that make me fall in love with him, day after day, a little more than the day before. Since it’s been five years, I’ll give you the top 50:

  1. His love of all things automotive
  2. The sparkle he gets in his eye when he talks about anything automotive
  3. The way we have to comb every single store from here to Timbuktu looking for collectible cars
  4. The fact that his car collection wallpapers one whole room in our house, and most of the garage, but he’s still excited to find the next big treasure
  5. His ability to manage and motivate people
  6. His strong work ethic and his commitment to doing the best job he can do
  7. The way he brushes my hair for me to help me relax when he knows I’ve had more than I can take
  8. The way he rubs my back when it hurts
  9. That he flies by the seat of his pants and offsets the planner in me perfectly
  10. That that he got misty-eyed with me when we watched “The Notebook” together…
  11. Then he bought me “The Notebook” for Valentine’s Day, almost six months after we had seen it
  12. That he brings me a card when he knows I’m feeling down
  13. That sometimes he brings me flowers for big occasions
  14. That sometimes he brings me flowers for no reason at all
  15. That he likes to surprise me with things he knows I really want (like the MP3 player he just bought me a couple of months ago)
  16. That he likes to surprise me with things I didn’t know I wanted at all (like the iTunes gift card he brought me last week)
  17. That he plays music for me that reminds him of me and gets squishy when he does (e.g., Chasing Cars, by Snow Patrol)
  18. The way he still always opens my car door first and shuts it for me after I’m in
  19. The way he helps me take my coat off when we arrive somewhere and put it back on when we leave again
  20. That he watches “Dancing with the Stars” with me and doesn’t complain
  21. His green thumb
  22. His culinary abilities (his Salisbury Steak is to DIE for!)
  23. His baking abilities – he made our wedding cake… see the picture below (it was a masterpiece!)
  24. His artistic talents – he is the most incredible pen and ink artist I have ever seen
  25. The way he got a tear in his eye when Daphne went on her first overnight Church trip
  26. The way he looks, every time we go to the store, for Hot Wheels and Littlest Pets, because he knows the kids like them so much
  27. His willingness to coach the kids’ soccer team
  28. The way he plays basketball with them on the weekends
  29. The super-deluxe, black and diamond plate, Monster Garage backboard he built for them after the basketball hoop blew over and shattered, so they’d be the coolest kids around
  30. The grin he has when he brings home something he knows they’ll love — like the trampoline he bought last summer
  31. That he loves to fish and has taught every single one of our kids to fish
  32. That sometimes, very early in the morning, he likes to go fishing with just me
  33. The way he reaches for me and pulls me close when he first wakes up… every morning
  34. The way he looks in Lucky jeans
  35. The way he looks in a three-piece suit
  36. That he decorates the house for Halloween better than anyone on the block
  37. That he had to add an extra breaker to decorate for Christmas
  38. That he transformed our backyard from a 45-degree slope of dirt into a beautiful, tranquil oasis that is the envy of all of our neighbors
  39. That he ends every phone call with “I love you”
  40. That he says to me, almost every day, “You are a beautiful woman,” and he really thinks so
  41. His ability to speak passionately and eloquently in court
  42. His desire to continue to fight for what is right for the kids, but not to take it too far
  43. The joy on his face when each of the girls got baptized
  44. The way he read Bible Stories to the kids every night before bed when they were little
  45. That he says, sometimes, he feels closest to God when he sits in our backyard and listens to the birds sing while he watches the sun rise
  46. The way praise and worship at our church moves him
  47. His desire to constantly keep improving himself
  48. His sense of humor
  49. His amazing smile
  50. His incredible faith

I can hardly believe it’s been five years already. I feel like it’s been forever, and not very long, both at the same time. I am so very blessed to be married to the man of my dreams, my first love, the one my heart has belonged to since I was 14 years old, the most amazing man on the planet, my soulmate, my best friend, the one God set aside for me before either of us was born. He is artistic, intelligent, charismatic, passionate, spiritual, loving, thoughtful, playful, gentle, kind and faithful. He is an incredible husband, a loyal friend, a fantastic Daddy, a motivational boss, a dedicated worker, a loving son, a follower of Jesus, and my favorite person in the world.

Best of all? He is mine!

Someone asked me, “If you knew then what you know now–how hard things would be, how much grief you would go through–would you do it again?”

I have to say, that I simply can’t imagine my life without him in it. It’s been tough, sure. It’s been painful. We’ve had lots of tears. But the laughter has been the best laughter ever. And the joy has been the deepest joy I could possibly envision. The simple act of waking up next to him makes my life complete.

Would I do it again? No question, hands down, absolutely, resoundingly, YES. A million times over. Thank you, God, for giving me the opportunity.

Happy Anniversary, baby.

I love you…

to the moon and back.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. sehrraja permalink
    April 12, 2008 7:21 am

    I had a wonderful time reading about your husband. I pray that it shall be like that forever!

  2. lyndaspix permalink
    April 12, 2008 7:41 am

    Happy Anniversary Steph and Hubby! I love you guys and pray that you’ll have a very long rest of your lives to love, laugh and live for and with each other.

  3. April 12, 2008 7:45 am

    Enjoy your day.

    This one: “The way he still always opens my car door first and shuts it for me after Iā€™m in.”

    I had so much trouble dealing with Jeff doing this for me. It took a lot of effort on my part to see that as respectful and not annoying. Now, five years later, I love watching him teaching our sons to do the same behavior for their girlfriends.

    – Dana

  4. April 12, 2008 7:53 am

    Happy anniversary!

  5. April 12, 2008 8:11 am

    Happy anniversary! It was lovely to read about your love for your husband and your marriage. Thank you for sharing.

  6. April 12, 2008 11:32 am

    That’s the coolest cake ever. I sent you card, then found you’d already written all this. Nice list! Happy Day!

  7. starshine30 permalink
    April 12, 2008 2:33 pm

    Happy Happy Happy Anniversary!
    (I love my hubby in Lucky Jeans too! Hot!)

  8. itsalovething permalink
    April 12, 2008 3:13 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Thanks for sharing!

    C.

  9. April 12, 2008 4:30 pm

    Does he have a brother?

    OH wait… I’m already married šŸ˜‰

    Happy Anniversary, Steph!! Here’s to another great 5 years!

  10. Kelly permalink
    April 12, 2008 8:39 pm

    Happy Anniversary and many, many more! The list made me smile! That’s awesome!

  11. April 13, 2008 5:55 am

    Happy Anniversary!

  12. April 13, 2008 6:14 pm

    I love this post. What a wonderful tribute to your hubby, who is amazing and just perfect for you. Congratulations on five years, and we wish you many more wonderful years together.

  13. April 14, 2008 4:10 am

    Happy Anniversary! I loved your list! And….your hubby is FAB! That wedding cake is BEAUTIFUL!
    Here’s to so many more years of happiness.

  14. April 14, 2008 4:50 am

    Happy Anniversary! Your hubby and mine sound a lot alike. Here’s hoping that you are just as happy when you get to your 25th anniversary. šŸ™‚

  15. April 14, 2008 1:58 pm

    What a great list. Happy Anniversary!

  16. April 14, 2008 7:05 pm

    That is beautiful, Stephanie. Written covenenats like these are good to have around, good to read when you need restored in the midst of the madness.
    Congratulations to you both!

    Have you ever told us the whole love story yet? I’d really like to hear it.

  17. Noni permalink
    April 14, 2008 9:27 pm

    The cake was YUMMY! I can’t believe it has been five years already. Keep up the good work!

  18. lucky13 permalink
    April 15, 2008 5:19 am

    i’m a bit late, but Happy Anniversary! A beautiful list to read.

  19. April 15, 2008 9:29 am

    This was both heartbreaking and lovely to read today. Happy anniversary. It’s wonderful you found someone who makes you feel this way, and has so many things you love about him. Enjoy each other!

  20. April 15, 2008 1:29 pm

    Awwwwww…. happy anniversary!!
    (Better late than never, right?)

  21. Noni permalink
    April 20, 2008 1:49 pm

    P.S. We love your hubby too, and are very thankful he is part of our family.

    Thank you so much for sharing the first part of your Anniversary Day with me!

  22. April 23, 2008 7:06 am

    AHHHH! I am now crying. Thanks for posting such a heartfelt post about your hubby. You are truly blessed. Here is to the next five years!!!!! Happy Anniversary!!! (I’m a little late)

Leave a Reply

