Skip to content

I Love Your Blog

January 7, 2009

Ah, blogland. Back to my familiar stomping grounds. I’ll tell you, this may have been the most restful New Year’s I’ve ever had. We were in a kid-free zone for several days and My Hubby and I did a lot of resting. I’m not sure it was entirely voluntary, as my body was ready to keep itself in the prone position for long periods of time with or without my mind’s approval. Recovery from insanity apparently takes a long time.

But here I am… back and refreshed, ready to move forward again. And in doing so, I need first to take the time to address some bloggy love. My response is LONG overdue, though I can assure you that response time should in no way reflect on the level of gratitude I have.

Jeanie Rhoades did this to me.

It is an amazing honor–one I feel so undeserving of receiving. I feel giddy to have received bloggy love from her. So giddy that it’s a joy to award it to 7 other people and have them pay it forward!

But I have a serious problem. I read a whole ton of amazing blogs… and choosing just seven is a serious task! I’ll post seven here, but to all of you whose blogs I read daily, to all of you that make my life a little sunnier, to all of you that make me feel blessed to have found a sisterhood (and in some cases, a brotherhood) of amazing folks trying to do their best at being wives, mothers (and I mean that in every sense of the word), sisters, daughters, fathers, husbands, and friends–I love ALL of your blogs, even if you’re not mentioned in my tiny list of seven!

1.

Thought Collage – Jeanie, Jeanie, Jeanie–because you make me want to be more, do more, reach out more, take more chances, risk more, love more, and say it out loud more. You inspire me to greater things every time I read a post. You have an amazing family and they are absolutely the result of a life lived cultivating beauty and joy, and God-honoring laughter and love. I am blessed to know you. Truly.

2.

Mrs. H at A Stepmom’s Say – I loved posts about her inviting BM out for hot chocolate because that’s really where her heart is and I admire her efforts. I loved (just as much) her heart-wrenching honesty about weekends without her stepsons, trying to deal with insanity from BM, and the frustration she experiences when BM derails her best-laid plans. No matter what Mrs. H posts about–and the topics are varied–she does it with grace and humility. And? She has some bizarre commenters that never fail to keep the forum lively.

3.

Blue at A Secret to Blue Bamboo – I truly think she and I might have been separated at birth. We share a lot of similar interests and similar thought processes. While I have been disgusted with the things that her girls have dealt with at the hands of their BM (Mrs. Dirt), and sickened and saddened by the loss of the girls’ baby brother at the hands of Mrs. Dirt, I am impressed daily with Blue’s ability to step up, step in, and be the stabilizing factor (along with Sean, the girls’ Daddy) they so desperately need. She also has a wicked sense of humor!

4.

Lynda at Lynda’s Pix – So she’s related… sue me. She’s really my cousin, but she’s far more like the sister I never had. She’s funny, she’s wise, and she’s a master of the digital camera. Her pictures leave me breathless, they’re so beautiful. While I adore reading her blog, and she’s been my most devoted reader EVER, I’m secretly waiting for the day I can hook her up with some gallery space for her incredible pix. She’s gonna make a mint – mark my words!

5.

Shadowlands – The story of her husband’s battle with cancer is sometimes sweet, sometimes funny, and sometimes heartbreaking. I rarely read a post that doesn’t leave me in tears–happy or sad. I admire her strength of character, and of spirit. I admire her will to make his last days special and dignified and the story of her laying in his arms for the last time will be burned in my heart forever. Her grit, her unapologetic grief, her incredible descriptions of the love of her life, and her life after he left this earth make me thankful that such an extraordinary woman was blessed with such an extraordinary man, and blessed with a love that transcends the bonds of this earth.

6.

Mister-M at The Psycho Ex-Wife – Partially because his stories are so eerily familiar, but mostly because he has a great way of reaching out to a hurting community of people with wisdom and sage advice. He’s not full of any fluff or psycho-babble, just the facts and I (and I imagine anyone else going through this full-blown insanity) appreciate that. I also have learned a LOT from his take on low/no-contact. It’s been invaluable. Kudos to him for still trying to help others after all he’s been through.

7.

Minnie at Their Wicked Stepmother – She’s hilarious. Period. She pulls absolutely no punches. And the conversations she has with the BM in her life are better than any fiction I’ve ever read. I don’t think I’ve read a single post she’s written that didn’t leave me in stitches.

OK winners, there are AWARD RULES, here is what you have to do:

  • Tell the winner to put the award logo on their blog. It is their prize!
  • Link to the person from whom you received your award.
  • You bestow the award on 7 other blogs and link to them!
  • E-mail or leave a message on the bloggers you have awarded letting them know.

Keep the love going!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 4:05 pm

    You’re such a sweetheart. Stephanie, thanks so much for the very kind words. I normally frown about these awards and it’s not that I don’t appreciate getting them. My problem is typically this…

    – The people I usually get the awards from… name all the blogs I would probably end up sending awards to anyway. Then, I feel like I have to go find others just so it doesn’t look like I’m copping out. Then comes the guilt, the worry, the anxiety, followed closely by diarrhea and stomach pains and OH… OH DEAR GOD… I HAVE TO GO TO THE BATHROOM….

  2. January 7, 2009 4:45 pm

    Welcome back!

    Glad you had a restful New Years!

  3. January 7, 2009 6:47 pm

    Oh, Stephanie, thank you so much for this award. I am honored that you visit my blog, not to mention, giving me this kindness…Now, I am the one with tears in my eyes…Thank you.

    PS I have the same problem as Mr M…we all read the same blogs it seems…

  4. sassybug permalink
    January 8, 2009 8:14 am

    My name was no listed and I am super okay with that. I feel your love every time you leave me such great comments!

  5. January 12, 2009 9:11 am

    You seriously have one of the most life-impacting blogs out there! I know your transparency and vulnerability are an encouragement to sooooo many people who are feeling so alone on this “ste-by-step” journey.

    All good thoughts and love right back at ya!

  6. January 14, 2009 9:09 am

    Thanks for this list. I have some new reading to do!

  7. February 5, 2009 3:25 pm

    Hi Stephanie, I had your password before, but I don’t have it anymore. (And I can’t find it in my email!) If you don’t remember me, I’ll be glad to remind you who I am. I’d love to have your password again, if you are alright with that. Hope to hear from you soon. -Marie

Leave a Reply

