Skip to content

In The Dishwasher Dumps – Part 3

January 21, 2011

I waited impatiently on the phone, without even the benefit of some Muzak to occupy my mind. It seemed like forever before the nasally-voiced bored woman came back to inform me that she had her supervisor on the line.

Great.

I mumbled a thank-you-very-much and waited for the supervisor to speak.

When she did, I was pleasantly surprised. She did have a drawl, but she didn’t sound bored, or tired, or sick of her job, or whatever had been going on with the first woman. She sounded friendly, as if we might be able to sit down with a nice cup of tea and discuss the issue. And? She began with an apology, a tactic that almost always works wonders on the most irritated of folks.

“I’m so sorry for the misinformation you received earlier in this call,” she began. “Sometimes we just don’t have the correct information in the system. But I think we’ve rectified that now.”

“Wonderful,” I thought to myself. “Maybe now we can get something accomplished.”

In my out loud voice I said, “It happens,” and tried to sound like I was actually a patient, kind, reasonable customer for whom she would want to move heaven and earth to get a dishwasher part in record time.

“Yes,” she replied, “It does. More often than we’d like, unfortunately. Anyway, I’m so sorry for the miscommunication. The part that you’re looking for was showing that it would arrive today, but it actually won’t be there until Thursday.”

All of the nicey-nice that had been building up inside of me as a result of the goodwill apology went out the window. I didn’t respond right away because I needed to choose my words carefully. Most often, I do actually think things through and I try to phrase my thoughts in such a way that I’m not completely offensive to the listening party. But sometimes, when I’m especially cross (and this was just such an occasion), my anger and/or irritation gets the better of me and my inside-my-head thoughts have a way of coming straight out of my lips… no filter.

I have learned, over the years I’ve been alive on the planet, that the no-filter option is generally not a good plan.

So I waited a second or 20 before I spoke.

“Hmmm,” I said. “Interesting. I guess I’m a bit confused. Because when the serviceman was here last Friday, he told me specifically that the issue WAS indeed covered under my Extended Product Protection Plan, and he also said he would be ordering the part in an emergency fashion, just to make sure that it was here and ready to install by Monday or Tuesday.”

All of the kindness had evidently dripped out of the supervisor while I had been speaking, because her comments were suddenly clipped. The vision of us sitting down over a nice cup of tea left my brain as if it had never been there.

“Well,” she almost spat, “We do NOT order dishwasher parts on an emergency basis. We only order parts on an emergency basis for refrigeration units, which are used to keep your food cold.”

As if I might have been unclear on the definition of “refrigeration unit”.

“Oh,” I fired back. “Well, I can see how you might not consider a dishwasher an emergency item. But when I have purchased a top of the line unit, and then paid for Extended Product Protection, and I live in a household of six, it most assuredly IS an emergency to me. Further, I have been waiting for this since last Thursday when the unit stopped working… and it is less than two years old, might I add. You sent me a serviceman who was completely unprepared to do ANY kind of service whatsoever, but set a very specific expectation that I would receive a part BY today, have it installed tomorrow and be up and working. You provided me with the single most unqualified person on earth to perform customer service who gave me completely inaccurate information, and now you’re telling me that the part won’t even be here until Thursday? I am not satisfied with that.”

“I don’t know what to tell you,” she answered. “That’s the best that I can do. We simply do not order dishwasher parts on an emergency basis.”

The way she enunciated “dishwasher” made it sound as if I were the most unreasonable customer she’d ever encountered… or the most dense. After the treatment I’d already received from her customer service rep, I was not pleased that she would choose to drop the bar even lower.

“Well, maybe it doesn’t seem like an emergency to you. But I can assure you that it IS an emergency in our family. And I am not happy about the level of service we have received at all.”

Thinking that maybe I could find some common ground, I added, “How would you feel if you were out a dishwasher for a week?”

She laughed haughtily as she trumped my complaint, “Ma’am, I don’t even HAVE a dishwasher.”

Of course not.

“I guess that will be all, then,” I replied. “Nothing you can do for me.”

And I hung up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    January 21, 2011 2:34 pm

    I cannot stand dealing with customer service!

  2. cassee01 permalink
    January 24, 2011 10:08 am

    I think customer services is going the way of the dinosaur..it’s not important anymore. I mean they give it lip service but it seems like no one cares anymore if the customer is unhappy.

  3. Mara permalink
    January 29, 2011 11:10 am

    Don’t leave us hanging! What’s the update????

Leave a Reply

