Skip to content

Thanksgiving Should Be Every Day

November 22, 2007

I really, truly love the snow. I love to sit at the window and watch it fall gently, cup of tea in hand, afghan wrapped snugly around my shoulders. I love to watch it blow and whip, swirl across the road, blizzard and pile up in the driveway. I love snow days–staying home with the kids and making snow forts, snowmen, and snow angels. I love it. I look forward to it. I really do.

I’m not so fond of it when we have to be on the road, though. And here we are on roadtrip number 500,000 this year. We hit a 20-mile stretch where it was total black ice. We saw accident after accident and there was a police officer, lights a-blazin’ in the middle of the highway in front of us, slowing traffic down to 45 miles per hour. Add to that the encroaching darkness, and it was just not fun. It took us almost 45 minutes to go 20 miles. My Hubby was tense, I was tense, the kids were scared.

After our 20-mile stretch, the snow let up, the road dried out, the police officer pulled over to help a stranded motorist, and we drove on. We breathed multiple sighs of relief. We laughed, we relaxed our shoulders. We made it to our destination, safe and sound.

That’s the first thing I’m thankful for this Thanksgiving Day.

But that’s not all. I have so very many reasons to be thankful…

2. I’m thankful for My Hubby. I’m truly blessed to have married my best friend, my soulmate, the love of my life. He is an amazing husband, an amazing father, an amazing leader of our household, a Godly man, the man I always dreamt of being married to. I love talking to him, dreaming of our future together, falling asleep with him every night, worshiping next to him every Sunday.

3. I’m thankful for my kiddos–biologically mine or not, they are the funniest, sweetest, kindest, most amazing group of short people I’ve ever met. They make me laugh, cry, realize the value of sweet time, and get my priorities straight. I can’t imagine doing life every day without them.

4. I’m thankful for the health of all of those in my family. I know people who have struggled mightily with sickness, and I’m so very grateful that we don’t. My Hubby and I are healthy. My kiddos are healthy. My parents are healthy.

5. I’m thankful that we live in America. There is a whole separate list I can put together that contains the reasons I love America. Suffice it to say here that we still live in the land of opportunity. We have so many freedoms and I am thankful that I am a citizen of this wonderful country.

6. I am thankful for my job. I know lots of folks that get up every day and dread going to work. I am lucky enough to have found something that really fits me and that I enjoy doing. I may not be there for the rest of my life, but they pay me well to do something I enjoy. I am blessed.

7. I am thankful for my home. When I was a teenager we went on a mission trip to Tijuana, Mexico and visions from that trip were burned into my memory. Most of the folks we saw there lived in a shantytown–ten or more people to a 10×10 shack made out of corrugated tin. They slept in shifts because there were too many of them to fit at once. I have a pretty modest home by our country’s standards, but I think often of others around the world that live like those folks in Tijuana and I remember that I am very blessed, not just with the roof, but with the kind of roof I have over my head.

8. I am thankful for my friends. I know there are lots of lonely people out there, but I am not one of them. I have the best friends on earth. I have friends I have known since childhood, since college, since the birth of my son, since last year, and since last week. I have friends that live across the country, just a few miles, and across the street. I have friends that I have never met, but connect with often in the blogosphere. I am thankful for them all. I strive to be the kind of friend to them that they have all been to me.

9. I am thankful for my church. I am thankful that God has blessed our church leaders with vision, discernment, and the gift of evangelism. I am thankful that we have a gathering place where we can worship and learn together. I am thankful for the friends we have made there, the relationships we have built there, and everything it has meant to our kids.

10. I am thankful that we have the freedom to thank God for all off these things. There are so many people across the world that hide in their basements to worship, cannot speak God’s name in public, and keep their entire Bible hidden in their hearts because they cannot read them out loud. I am thankful that we can be open about our faith in our homes and communities and, while others may not agree, we are not persecuted for our beliefs.

God, I am blessed. Thank you so very much for all that I have. While I am undeserving, you have made me truly rich beyond measure. Help me to remember that every day.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2007 7:07 pm

    Wonderful post, my friend. You are, indeed, very blessed (as am I). I hope you make it back home safe and sound.

    Great post. Loved every piece of it.

  2. Lynda permalink
    November 22, 2007 9:01 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! We do indeed have many things to be thankful for. I count you as one of my blessings. Love you!!

  3. tulips4me permalink
    November 23, 2007 12:00 pm

    Thank you for reminding me of all that we have to be thankful for. I am ever thankful that you and I have connected…I did not realize how much I needed someone who actually gets the whole blended family thing!

  4. November 23, 2007 4:32 pm

    A grateful heart is a great thing. A grateful heart begets more gratefulness. Great post!

  5. November 23, 2007 5:01 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! I am thankful for a lot too, despite the turmoil. I’m thankful I have so many great blog friends!

  6. November 23, 2007 6:50 pm

    Enjoyed this post! We should spend each day every day listing our thankful lists…gives great perspective to each day!

  7. Noni permalink
    November 24, 2007 9:00 am

    Thanksgiving Day was wonderful…and thanksgiving everyday is truly a way of life to be cultivated. God Bless!

  8. November 26, 2007 8:49 am

    I am thankful for your thankful post.

Leave a Reply

